Tea for Two

20120506-134345.jpg

Above is the picture of my friend’s birthday present, I struggle a bit for ideas for her so I figured who wouldn’t want a tea set?

I picked up the china in a charity shop for £4 and it consisted of three cups, saucers, and various plates. It wasn’t complete hence the bargain price, so I decided to make three of the plates into a cake stand and turn it into a set for two. The bits to make the cake stand were cheap and popular on eBay. I was really worried about the plates breaking when I drilled them but actually, even though I used a tile drill bit, it took an absolute age to get the holes in them – they were really tough!

The little felt cakes (she is allergic to so much stuff I was worried about baking real ones for her) I picked up a kit for in the Boots 75% off sale in January – I think that was about £4 as well. They just took an evening to put together, everything was included in the kit and actually I really enjoyed it. Love it when the results are good for so little effort – yes, I am a bit lazy I guess 🙂

I filled one of the tea cups with soy wax and a wick (another kit from the Boots 75% off sale at around £4 but there was enough for two and I’m planning a similar present for another friend later in the year, so I’ll use the rest up for that). You can just wash up the cup and use it after the wax has been used up so I guess technically it is tea for three…

The little suitcase was what the cake kit came in, and the napkins I had kicking around from a vintage themed party I had a couple of years ago.

So all in all, it came to about £11 I reckon, I used some bits and pieces and I think it looks really cute.

Leave a Reply

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
